Meet Our Team

Chip Walters
Executive Director/Founder

Chip Walters is the Founder and Executive Director of Sidewalk Hope. After 29 years as an educator at the SC School for the Deaf and the Blind, Chip felt called to minister to children in the city of Spartanburg. After several years as a Children’s Minister, Chip committed to serving the children and families of Sidewalk Hope full-time. Chip has a Bachelors Degree in Deaf Education and a Masters Degree in Comprehensive Special Education. She is a member of Hope Point Church.

Linda Coon
Director of Operations

Linda Coon is the Director of Operations  – commonly known as “the business end of Sidewalk Hope.” With  23 years of experience in the business world plus 22 years as an educator and educational administrator, Linda brings a unique skill set perfectly matched for Sidewalk Hope. She holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Education for Deaf/Hard of Hearing students, certifications for both elementary and high school principals, and she holds a Masters Degree in Business with a focus on the nonprofit sector. Linda is a member of Hope Point Church.

Board of Directors

Kristin Barber
Board President

Kathy Miller
Board Vice President

Sissy Melotte
Board Secretary/Treasurer

Valerie Barnet
Board Director

Karen Keith
Board Director

Shawn Maple
Board Director

Rob Nelson
Board Director

Omar Osborne
Board Member